Foundation Leadership

Foundation Structure

The NASPGHAN Foundation is governed by a group of distinguished leaders in the field of pediatric gastroenterology. Our board of directors is composed of several members and officers from NASPGHAN and lay members. NASPGHAN members are chosen on the basis of their expertise and leadership in the science and practice of pediatric gastroenterology and their willingness to actively work with the NASPGHAN Foundation to raise funds for research and education.

Lay members are chosen on the basis of their commitments to children with digestive diseases and their ability to lend advice and fund raising expertise to the board.

The NASPGHAN Foundation also maintains an Advisory Board composed of physicians or lay members who assist us in promoting our research and education, as well as our fundraising efforts.

The NASPGHAN Foundation is organized exclusively for charitable, scientific, and educational purposes as defined in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and receives an annual audit.

Foundation Officers

Barry Wershil, MD
Past President

Menno Verhave, MD

Ann Scheimann, MD, MBA
President - Elect

Jeannie S. Huang, MD, MPH
Secretary - Treasurer


Board of Directors

Praveen Goday, MD
Nicola Jones, MD
Jenifer Lightdale, MD
Marjorie Merrick
Karen Murray, MD
Vicky Ng, MD
Maria Oliva - Hemker, MD
Patricia Robuck, PhD
Joel Rosh, MD

Advisory Board

Support the Foundation

Through your purchases you make on Amazon

Did you know that for every purchase you make on Amazon you can designate the NASPGHAN Foundation to receive .5% of the purchase from Amazon?


The Association of Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition Nurses
Help & Hope for Children with Digestive Disorders
Journal of Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition
JPGN Reports